Trades Awards 2018 Finalists Announced

Trades_and the winner_is_2018_0.2

On behalf of  the Mearns & Gill team, we would like to thank every individual and company who took the time to enter Trades Awards 2018, which is once again kindly sponsored by Stewart Milne Group.

The judging panel were blown away by the number and quality of applications that were submitted this year, and after weeks of reading, reviewing and discussing, we are delighted to reveal details of this year’s finalists:


Home/Building Improvement, Interior, sponsored by Flexistore

Lethenty Cabinetmakers

MAC Architects

WB Jamieson


Home/Building Improvement, Exterior, sponsored by Life Property Maintenance

MAC Architects

Nicol of Skene


Garden Design and Landscaping, sponsored by GPH Builders Merchants

Gerbera Design

Heather Dale Garden Design

MB Landscapes

Papillon Design and Landscaping


Excellence in Health and Safety, sponsored by Safety Scotland

Barr Demolition

Forster Group

Stewart Milne Group

Zero C


Outstanding Customer Service, sponsored by Barratt Homes

Life Property Management

Nicol of Skene

Stewart Milne Homes


Best New Business, sponsored by Glulam Solutions

Cherry Tree Group

Cairnrowan Custom Homes

Cool Air Aberdeen

North East Electrical Services


Trades Innovation, sponsored by Heatcare Oil and Gas

A&B Property Services

Glulam Solutions

Papillon Design and Landscaping


Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by Revive the Finish

Darius Shade, Barratt Homes

Jan Richardson, Stewart Milne Homes

Kyle Edgar, N Edgar Property Maintenance

Kyle Mair, Bancon Homes

Lewis Marnoch, Stewart Milne Homes


Young Construction Professional of the Year, sponsored by Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors

Garry Bisset, Barratt Homes

Geoffrey Shearer, Safety Scotland

Graeme Robertson, Stewart Milne Homes

Katy Forbes, WM Donald

Liam Ross, Stewart Milne Homes


Tradesperson of the Year, sponsored by Evening Express

Mike White, Stewart Milne Homes

Stuart Brown, Stewart Milne Homes

Jason Ironside, WB Jamieson


Site Manager of the Year, sponsored by CALA Homes

Fred Anderson, CALA Homes

Graham Gow, Burns Construction

Graham Mann, Stewart Milne Homes

Ronnie Falconer, Stewart Milne Homes


Best Trades Business, 0-10 Employees, sponsored by Thorpe Molloy

Glulam Solutions

Lethenty Cabinetmakers

North East Electrical

Pitmedden Electrical


Best Trades Business, 11+ Employees, sponsored by Richard Irvin Energy Solutions



WB Jamieson


Winners will be announced on Friday 8th June at a black tie ceremony at Ardoe House Hotel. Tables of 10 cost £1000 + vat, and we expect 450 guests from across the North-east construction industry this year.


For more information, please don’t hesitate to contact us on or 01224 646311.



  • Stewart Milne Group
  • AACP
  • Barratt Homes
  • Cala Homes
  • Evening Express
  • Flexistore Aberdeen
  • Glulam Solutions
  • GPH Builders Merchants
  • Life property Management
  • Nicol of Skene
  • Richard Irvin
  • Safety Scotland
  • Thorpe Molloy
  • Mearns and Gill