Trades Awards 2019 finalists announced

After several weeks of reading, scoring and discussing this year’s Trades Awards applications, our judges are finally ready to reveal the finalists of Trades Awards 2019.

We would like to thank every person who took the time out of their busy schedule to enter this year, highlighting the incredible talent and passion that is here within the North-east construction industry. Our judges had an extremely difficult task, but after much deliberating, the finalists are below.

The finalist interviews will be taking place across two days at the end of April, and the Trades Awards 2019 winners will be announced at a black tie ceremony at Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House on Friday 7th June. For more information, or to book your space, please contact Tables of 10 cost £1000 + vat, and individual seats can be bought for £100 + vat.


Garden Design and Landscaping- sponsored by STV

Forbes Solutions

Gerbera Designs

Heather Dale Garden Design


Home/Building Improvement, Interior – sponsored by Flexistore



Tinto Architecture

W B Jamieson


Home/Building Improvement, Exterior – sponsored by Life Property Management

Annie Kenyon Developments

Forster Group


Trades Innovation – sponsored by Nicol of Skene




Stewart Milne Group


Best New Business – sponsored by Glulam Solutions

Annie Kenyon Developments

NLB Climate

Trades Secrets


Outstanding Customer Service – sponsored by Barratt Homes

CALA Homes

Tinto Architecture

W B Jamieson



Excellence in Health & Safety – sponsored by Safety Scotland

Glulam Solutions

Stewart Milne Group

W M Donald


Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by Thorpe Molloy

Stephenie Barron – Stewart Milne Homes

Brodie Ligertwood – AJC Construction

Darius Shade – Barratt Homes

Jemma Sykes – Barratt Homes


Young Construction Professional of the Year – sponsored by Aberdeen Association of Construction Professionals

Natalie Buchan – Stewart Milne Homes

Darren Cocker – Bancon Homes

Martin Coull – Glulam Solutions

Kirsty Gill- ZeroC

Emma Robertson- Nicol of Skene


Tradesperson of the Year – sponsored by the Evening Express

Andy Govan – Nicol of Skene

Derek Kennedy – Stewart Milne Homes

Aly Matheson – Nicol of Skene


Site Manager of the Year- sponsored by CALA Homes

Fred Anderson – CALA Homes

Adam Easton- W M Donald

Ronnie Falconer – Stewart Milne Homes

Darren Ferguson – Stewart Milne Homes

Neil Mutch – Nicol of Skene


Best Trades Business, 0-10 Employees – sponsored by GPH Builders Merchants

Glulam Solutions


Liberty Fitting


Best Trades Business, 11+ Employees – sponsored by Richard Irvin Facilities Management

JKR Contractors

W B Jamieson

  • Stewart Milne Group
  • AACP
  • Barratt Homes
  • Cala Homes
  • Evening Express
  • Flexistore Aberdeen
  • Glulam Solutions
  • GPH Builders Merchants
  • Life property Management
  • Nicol of Skene
  • Richard Irvin
  • Safety Scotland
  • Thorpe Molloy
  • Mearns and Gill